The PTF currently comprises nominees of nine Professional Associations involved in the practice and voluntary regulation of Counselling and Psychotherapy in Ireland.  In combination, these associations represent the vast majority of professional counsellors and psychotherapists in Ireland. It is independently facilitated by Mr. Frank Scott-Lennon. It normally meets as a plenary group four times per year but a substantial level of work is undertaken by small working groups on an ongoing basis. It respects the right of individual member associations to hold divergent positions and actively tries to accommodate such differences while seeking as much consensus as possible.

The following is a list (in alphabetical order) of the member associations and their nominees on the PTF. A link is also provided to the website of each member Association where you can access full information from each Association about their activities, membership criteria, training & professional standards etc.:


The Forum: 


  • Mary Johnston



  • Kathleen Meagher


  • Jim Meaney
  • Denis Ryan
  • Eve Watson
  • Harriet Parsons
  • Mary Ann Steffy
  • Eimir McGrath
  • Mary Hogan
  •  Doreen O’Rourke
  • Rhoda Draper
  • Liam Lally
  • Julie Kelly